…..is a bittersweet time for me. First of all, I love being a dad. Ten years ago I would have punched you if you told me that I would feel that way. But it’s true. My kids are the greatest. I don’t remember what life was like without them, and I don’t want to.

Also, I love my dad. He is a great guy, and I know he loves me, too. (even though he’s too macho to show it) He’s always been there for me, and he’s always supported me.

However, it also stirs up memories for Ginny of her dad who passed away 6 months ago. I would like to say time heals all wounds, but that hasn’t been the case so far. Every day is a struggle, and there’s not much I can do to change that. The best I can do is love her, tell her, and show her. It kills me not to be able to repair the hurt she is feeling, or fill the emptiness she has right now. I can’t bring her dad back, and I can’t take his place. All I can do is try to love her like Christ loves the church, and I fail miserably every day.

Kids, give your dad a hug and tell him you love him. Even if it feels awkward. And dads, hug your kids and tell them you love them. Happy Father’s Day.

