This morning I read Matthew Chapter 10. It’s a great chapter about Jesus empowering and sending out the 12 disciples. It even includes the verse that people use to guilt you into forwarding religious e-mails or Myspace bulletins. You know, the one about “Whoever disowns me before men, I will disown him before my Father in heaven.”

Those are not the reasons for this post. The purpose lies in verses 29-31. Paraphrased, they say: Can’t you buy two sparrows pretty cheap? Yet not one falls to the ground outside of God’s will. He has gone so far as to count and number every hair on our head. Don’t worry, you’re worth more to God than many sparrows.

 I don’t know about you, but sometimes I feel worthless. Useless. Purposeless. Unappreciated. Misunderstood. Then I read these verses and I see that I am valued by God. I am important enough that he has cataloged every hair on my head. Not only am I important, but every part of me is important. If God cares enough about the life of a sparrow, how much more does he care for me?

So the next time you feel worthless, remember: You are worth more than many sparrows.

