Tonight at beach camp kicked my butt. There’s usually one night, and this was it.

We’ve been to this particular camp four years running. One of the things I love about this camp is that they support Compassion International. I have a heart for missions, for helping the helpless – especially children, and Compassion does just that. They set up facilities around the world in impoverished areas to provide children with health care, education, and an opportunity to learn about Jesus. These are children who are destined to follow their parents into poverty, and Compassion gives them hope. Some of these children have never known love, and Compassion shows them Christ’s love.

Last night, we had a special guest at camp. Raphansel was visiting from the Philippines. She is a graduate of the Compassion project, and she just graduated Magnum Cum Laude from a university in the Philippines. This may not seem like much to you, but hearing her story this is nothing short of a miracle. She comes from an extremely poor location in her country. Her father was an alcoholic, and in an area where it was a struggle just to have food to eat, her mother would often have to beg the neighbors for food because her father drank their money away.

Insert a lady on the other side of the world in Australia who decided to sponsor a little 5 year old girl through Compassion. For $32 a week, she afforded Raphansel hope. Food, healthcare and education, but most importantly hope. Hope for a future free from poverty. Hope that her earthly father would come to know her heavenly Father. Hope that she could break the cycle her family had been in for generations.

Ginny and I have supported Compassion for four years now, and I couldn’t think of a better use of my money. When you get that first letter from your sponsored child, your heart will melt. To see the difference you are making in not only that child’s life, but the life of their family, makes that dollar a day seem like a million.

I’m sorry it has taken four years for me to share this with you, but I’m glad I finally did. I encourage you to go check out www.compassion.com and see what it’s all about. Should you choose to sponsor a child, please comment back and let me know. Give me the child’s name, age and country so I can pray for you and the child. My prayer is that 10 children will be sponsored from this blog in 10 days. At the end of 10 days I will post an update to let you know how it went. At the end of the week, I will post about the little girl that Ginny and I sponsor.

It’s $32 a month for you, but it’s the opportunity for life and hope for a little child. Jesus said whatever you do for the least of his children, you do for Him. Don’t miss out on an opportunity to be a blessing to a child.

