This morning I was reading Matthew 14 during my quiet time. It contains the passage about Jesus walking on water, and Peter wanting to get in on the action. So he gets out of the boat and walks to Jesus. Now, I don’t know if you realize this or not, but this is a MIRACLE. Two to be exact, but who’s counting?

Then, I went for a run on the beach and I noticed something out in the ocean. It appeared to be a guy standing ON the ocean. Not IN the ocean, but On the ocean. Now, stay with me. I’m not under the influence of anything right now. Upon further investigation, it appears he was standing on a surfboard, paddling parallel to the beach, just past the waves. The waves were just enough to hide the board, and it appeared that he was walking on the water! OK, God. You’ve got my attention. I started thinking more about Matthew 14.

This hits me where I live. I want to do great things for God. I want to be extraordinary in the kingdom. But I am still in the boat. The boat is nice. It is comfy. I have a wife and two kids and a mortgage and health insurance and a 401K in the boat. But Jesus isn’t in the boat. He’s out walking on the water.

My prayer is that I have the courage to venture out of the boat. It’s a big, huge, scary prayer. Will you pray it with me?

