positive-post-tuesday.jpg

Happy Tuesday, everyone. I know the day is almost over, but it’s still Tuesday nonetheless.

Today’s Positive Post Tuesday is dedicated to RidgePoint Church. Not the outdated old building at 100 Hatfield Road, but the body of believers (and skeptics) that actually make up the DNA of RPC.

I have to tell you that I seriously could not fathom attending church anywhere besides RPC. I have had job offers and refused to move partly due to not wanting to leave RPC. I know what you are thinking, and even if I wasn’t a staff member, I would still be a RPC‘er.

We have done everything in our power to create a church for people who don’t like church. And we have caught a TON of flak for it. Mostly friendly fire from members or from other churches. Unfortunately for them, we exist to serve God and not them.

Last week Timm stood on stage and dreamed out loud what he felt church should be. He said church should be a movement, not a moment. That we’ve neutered the gospel. That outsiders matter to God, so they should matter to us. That the community should be glad were there, even if they don’t agree with us. That we’ve put God in a box. A brick-walled box. That WE ARE THE CHURCH. I wanted to stand up and cheer. I’m more than a little excited about our future.

Friday we get a chance to put feet to the message and be the church. We will be throwing the first annual Bloodhound BBQ, a dinner for the teachers of Auburndale High School and their families. No strings attached. Just to show our appreciation for their commitment to our future.

Long story longer, I love RPC and I love being the church! Even if I don’t always act like it.

Happy Tuesday!

