Today is Blog Action Day and the topic is poverty.

It’s where bloggers unite to discuss a topic, this year focusing on poverty.

Honestly, I know very little about poverty. I’ve been abundantly blessed here in these United States and I know more about gluttony than poverty. Then one day during youth summer camp,I heard about an organization called Compassion International.

Compassion International is a faith-based organization that exists to release children from spiritual, economic, social and physical poverty and enables them to become responsible, fulfilled Christian adults. These are children who had no hope of breaking the cycle of poverty in their family. They would be destined to follow in the footsteps of their parents and repeat the unbreakable cycle of poverty facing past and future generations. Compassion not only exists to meet a spiritual need, but to meet the immediate felt needs of the child: food, clothing, health care. 

Without Compassion’s help, many of these children would end up in prison, slavery, prostitution, with AIDS, Malaria or other diseases. But with Compassion’s help these children have hope of a different life than what they have been dealt. They have the hope that comes from knowledge of Jesus Christ. They have the hope of living a life that matters.

You can be a partner for change in the life of a child in poverty. It only takes $32 a month to sponsor a child. That’s one meal out at a restaurant, or two trips to Starbucks a week. It could mean drinking water instead of soda at lunch or skipping the carwash and doing it manually. It’s a small sacrifice for giving a child hope. 

Partnering with Compassion will change two lives. Yours and the child’s. I began sponsoring a child four years ago, and I have been blessed unbelievably. When the first letter came in the mail from my sponsored child, I cried through the entire letter. Just knowing that an 8 year old girl named Maria in Ecuador is getting an opportunity to go to school, the doctor and to church because I choose to drink free coffee at work rather than buy it at the store would be enough. But then I got a letter from Maria’s father thanking me for loving his daughter and telling me how much my sponsorship meant to his family. Then he told me he was praying for me and my family. Wow. Life change.

Here’s the deal. Visit Compassion’s website. Pray about what God would have you to do. Should you choose to sponsor a child, come back here and leave me a comment.

Change two lives forever for $32 a month.

Whoever welcomes one of these little children in my name welcomes me; and whoever welcomes me does not welcome me but the one who sent me. Mark 9:37

