No, I am not coming out of the closet. I’m not even in the closet, so move on.

What I’m talking about is what makes a real man.

The media will tell you that a “real man” is a playa. He drives a fast car, acts like a jerk and juggles multiple silicone-infused, makeup-covered women at a time.

Your dad will tell you that a “real man” is macho. He’s never wrong, doesn’t show emotion and only cried once – when Dale Earnhardt Sr. died.

I offer to you today that a real man loves his wife and she, along with others, know it. He also loves and spends time with his kids. He’s not afraid to admit when he’s wrong and he apologizes when he is. He leads his family spiritually and has been known to cry every now and then. He sacrifices his time and toys for the needs of his family. Above all he loves his wife and her alone.

That’s my definition of a real man. What’s yours?

