Long time, no Rewind!

This past Sunday at RidgePoint, Timmstarted a new series on parenting called Parent Trap. It’s a worthwhile subject whether you have kids or not. Here’s my highlights from the message:

  • As parents, none of us set out to be a failure.
  • As parents, we want to protect our kids, but my goal is to produce a functioning adult.
  • Today we’re talking about the spiritual trap we fall into.
  • “I’m never having kids.” – Never say never.
  • I don’t care who taught my son hopscotch, but I’m gonna teach him to drive. You don’t subcontract out the important stuff.
  • You don’t have to be an expert. Be involved.
  • Sometimes the best answer is, “I don’t know.”
  • Kids can tell if you’re bluffing.
  • Ephesians 6:4 Notice it says Fathers, not Pastors.
  • YOU are the primary spiritual influence in your kids’ lives.
  • You want the church to lodge a spiritual anchor in their (your kids’) hearts in 45 hours? You have them for 3000 hours.
  • “I’m not prepared.” – It doesn’t really matter.
  • How you relate to God is incredibly important.
  • Many of those 3000 hours, they are just watching you.
  • Putting your kids on the bus ministry tells them it’s important for them, but not for you.
  • If you’re not active in your kids’ spiritual development, then their most powerful tool is lying dormant.
  • How you relate to your kids is incredibly important.
  • Many people struggle relating to a heavenly father because of how they relate to their earthly father.
  • Every once in a while I’ll say something brilliant. – It doesn’t happen often.
  • Remember the story of the prodigal son? It’s our job to be the parent in that story.
  • Performance based love vs. unconditional love.

A powerful message. I am excited about the rest of the series. And Gabe did an awesome job finishing with Daughters.

Also, there are BIG things going on behind the scenes at RPC. Stay tuned.

See you this Sunday.

