I just finished reading Tribes by Seth Godin. Seth is my favorite leadership/marketing blogger on the planet. And his books are 150 pages, so win-win! If you’re interested in leadership, or following for that matter, then this is a great book to pick up. It’s a quick and easy read, but it’s full of great insights. Some of my favorites are:

  • If you’re not uncomfortable in your work as a leader, it’s almost certain you’re not reaching your potential as a leader.
  • One path that never works is the most common one: doing nothing at all.
  • If religion compromises rules you follow, faith is demonstrated by the actions you take.
  • Criticizing hope is easy. And in the end, cynicism is a lousy strategy.
  • You don’t have to be in charge or powerful or pretty or connected to be a leader. You do have to be committed.
  • I don’t think we have any choice. I think we have an obligation to change the rules, to raise the bar, to play a different game, and to play it better than anyone has any right to believe is possible.

But don’t take my word for it. Read it for yourself and tell me your favorite parts. If you want, you can even borrow my book.

Read it. And check out Seth’s blog. You won’t be disappointed.

What’s the best thing you’ve read lately?

